Skip links

Educational Resources

Schuyler Head Start Educational Resources

Creative Curriculum

The evolution of The Creative Curriculum® for Preschool is grounded in our commitment to early childhood educators. Over the years we’ve embraced innovation, updating the curriculum to keep pace with what teachers need in the classroom. What began as a focus on room arrangement is now a comprehensive collection of resources that offer moment-to-moment support. And every edition has incorporated current research on the best ways to help children succeed.

Preschool Tour Guide

Second Step

Second Step programs combine discussions with fun activities and family resources. The programs help children learn social-emotional skills such as responsible decision-making, working together to solve problems, managing strong emotions, and getting along with others. These skills can help children succeed academically and socially.

Second Step Resources

ECAC Pyramid Model

The ECAC is comprised of experts in education, health care, child welfare and mental health. Members represent state agencies, community-based non-profit organizations, foundations, higher education, unions and other key entities across the state, appointed by the Governor. This ensures that a diversity of perspectives and experiences inform our work.  Formed in was formed in 2009, the ECAC provides counsel to the Governor on issues related to young children and their families. The New York State Pyramid Model Partnership, will promote the statewide use of the Pyramid Model, an evidence-based framework proven to be an effective approach to building social and emotional competence in early care and education programs.

ECAC Pyramid Model

Child Development Guide: Ages and Stages

Understanding your child’s changing growth and development milestones is an important part of parenting. As infants and children progress through a series of growth stages, they may encounter common physical or emotional challenges. The pediatric experts at CHOC created a series of guides by age and stage, so you can better understand what your child is going through and spot any issues along the way. 

Child Development Guide


The Head Start Early Learning Outcomes Framework: Ages Birth to Five (ELOF) presents five broad areas of early learning, referred to as central domains. The framework is designed to show the continuum of learning for infants, toddlers, and preschoolers. It is grounded in comprehensive research around what young children should know and be able to do during their early years.

Learning Outcomes Framework